14
May
08

Coop Job Perk

So I just found another reason why I enjoy cooping out in Seattle. In addition to a cooler climate there are tons of parks and trails to hit up. Last week I was informed my company was going to send me with another Otak employee out to a few state parks to do some site investigation tasks. So what does all this mean? Well, basically I’m going to get paid to go camping, hiking, and biking for the month of June. For me this definitely tops sitting at a desk for 8 hours a day. I do know which parks I’m going to be in which is cool, but what really would have topped the task is if the park contained a significant mountain (+8,000 ft) so I could work on my mountaineering skills. But either way not many coops will be able to say they got paid to go camping. I’m still a little unsure about what information we will be gathering. But I’m sure I’ll get more details in the next few days.

I’m a little concerned about the time frame because it tentatively looks like I’d get done with that task and then head immediately to Kenya for two weeks. In other words, I could be away from the office for 6 weeks and get paid for four weeks. With lots to do before we leave, the unclear nature of my communication abilities concerns me right now. But hopefully in the coming weeks we get everything to about a 90% completion level. I’m hoping part of the contract involves me getting camping gear or money for new gear. Nothings better than going to REI for gear and not having to worry about being completely responsible for the bill.

1 Response to “Coop Job Perk”


  1. 1 Emily H
    May 14, 2008 at 12:49 am

    Your boss must really like you if they’re sending you out into the wilderness for four weeks…


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

This blog is operated by Engineering and Applied Science Ambassadors, a student group at the University of Cincinnati. Our purpose is to advance the relationship between the community, students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the College of Engineering and Applied Science.
May 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Our Photos

CIMG0032

More Photos

