05
May
08

Summer Co-op

It is midterm week here at UC which only serves as a reminder of how much I wish I was on co-op. Sure school is fun. I enjoy broadening my horizon and collecting information. However, nothing can compete with the utter bliss of being on co-op. Now maybe co-op is so exciting for me because of the place I work (NASA Johnson Space Center), or maybe its the awesome opportunities I have to meet people who have influenced the history of NASA (thanks to the co-op Lecture series), or maybe it’s the sheer pride I feel working on a team of actual engineers and being treated like an equal. I can’t decide (admit it, they are all pretty good reasons). But I can tell you that working on the Portable Life Support System (PLSS) of the Extravehicular Activity (EVA) space suit this summer is gonna be one for the books.

I am very much looking forward to the opportunity to help analyze and possibly redesign a few of the components used to keep astronauts alive and safe during space walks. I will be running tests, collecting data, and offering input on the design. This opportunity to work with other NASA engineers as a peer is going to be great.

Now that I’m cheered up by the thought of co-op, I can return to the harsh reality of life and get back to homework. Countdown to co-op: T – 7 weeks!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

This blog is operated by Engineering and Applied Science Ambassadors, a student group at the University of Cincinnati. Our purpose is to advance the relationship between the community, students, alumni, faculty, staff and friends of the College of Engineering and Applied Science.
May 2008
M T W T F S S
    Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Our Photos


